«At the end of September 1914, I had been gravely injured and I was lying on the ground in misery like my companions. At daybreak, I saw the heavy silhouette of the curate moving around the area. When it came to my turn I said to him in all honesty, 'I am a stranger to your way of worship and I do not share your convinctions'. He replied: 'My child, if you have to appear before the Supreme Judge shortly, know that He will be a judge of love'. This scene is one that I will never forget.»

Rene Cassin Nobel Prize winner and the 4th President of the Honoray Committee of the AIDLR

Who we are

Honorary Committee
Members of the Honorary Committee

  • Jean BAUBÉROT, university professor, Honorary President of the Ecole Practique des Hautes Etudes at the Sorbonne, France
  • Beverly Bert BEACH, former Secretary General Emeritus of the International Religious Liberty Association, United States
  • Heiner BIELEFELDT, former UN Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion and Belief, professor of Human Rights at the University of Erlangen Nuremberg, Germany
  • Reinder BRUINSMA, writer, university professor, Netherlands
  • Jaime CONTRERAS, university professor, Spain
  • Alberto DE LA HERA, former Director General of Religious Affairs, Ministry of Justice, Spain
  • Ganoune DIOP, Secretary General of the International Religious Liberty Association (IRLA)
  • Petru DUMITRIU, former UN Inspector, former Ambassador and Permanent Observer of the Council of Europe to the United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland
  • W. Cole DURHAM Jr, Director of the International Center for Law and Religious Studies at J. Clark Law School, Brigham Young University, United States
  • Silvio FERRARI, university professor, University of Milan and Catholic University of Leuven
  • Alain GARAY, lawyer at the Court of Paris and researcher at the University of Aix-Marseille, France John GRAZ, Director of the International Center for Religious Liberty and Public Affairs
  • Alberto F. GUAITA, Vice-President of the AIDLR, Spain
  • Ambassador Mussie HAILU, Regional Director for Africa and United Religions Initiative Representative at the UN and the African Union, ECA & UN Office in Africa and Geneva
  • José ITURMENDI, university professor, Honorary Dean of the Faculty of Law, Universidad Complutense Madrid, Spain
  • Jónatas MACHADO, professor, Faculty of Law of the University of Coimbra, Portugal, Portugal
  • Francesco MARGIOTTA BROGLIO, university professor, President of the Italian Commission for Religious Freedom, Representative of Italy to UNESCO, Italy
  • Rosa María MARTÍNEZ DE CODES, university Professor (UCM), Vice President of the International Religious Liberty Association (IRLA)
  • Jacques ROBERT, French jurist, university professor, former member of the Constitutional Council, France
  • Jaime ROSSELL GRANADOS, former Deputy Director at the Ministry of Justice, Spain, Dean of the Faculty of Law, University of Extremadura, Spain
  • Joaquín Mantecón SANCHO, university professor, former Director of Religious Affairs, Ministry of Justice, Spain
  • Robert SEIPLE, former Ambassador for international religious freedom,, Department of State, United States
  • José Miguel SERRANO RUIZ-CALDERÓN, Professor of Jurisprudence, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Rik TORFS, Rector of the University of Leuven, Belgium
  • José Eduardo VERA JARDIM, President of the Portuguese Religious Liberty Commission
  • Maurice VERFAILLIE, former Secretary General of the AIDLR, Switzerland
  • Bruno VERTALLIER, former President of the AIDLR, Switzerland